A love letter to moms ❤️

She deserves you

·

4 min read

Here I'm after a morning workout with eyes full of tears realizing how undeserving of my mom's love, well it was a side-effect of me listening to this soulful podcast. This blog is my retrospective on how we are totally ignorant to the love that we get for free from our moms, sometimes I feel we humans are undeserving of such a pure form of love.

Safest place on earth

Whenever I'm sick, stressed from work, heart-broken or even when bombs are descending from the sky the safest place on planet earth is my mom's laps, when I get a hug, or when my mom combs my hair with her soft fingers while I'm on her lap is the safest I have ever felt.

Listen to her

When I grew up I judged my mom's advice thinking that she is ignorant of the modern world or how things work and was filled with intellectual arrogance but I have been proven wrong enough times that I would be a billionaire if I had a dollar for each of my judgments. She knows what I like and what I want in life more than me, we may think that her advice is wrong but undeniably her intentions are always for our good.

She is you

Most of my friends and colleagues find me very kind, open-minded, honest and appreciate me for my moral compass but it was built and calibrated by the most beautiful person in my life my mom, I'm a reflection of her so I always feel that my mom deserves the credit and love but me being ignorant have been harsh to her sometime and I regret every single moment of it, as soon as I make my mom feel bad my entire world becomes dull, I lose my focus and cannot move on with my life until I patch things up with my mom and make her smile and it all takes a simple kiss.

Boring questions

The only person that asks me whether I ate over a call is my mom. When I stayed away from home for the first time to work and I would get easily irritated by my mom's questions.

"Did you eat?" "What did you eat?" "Are you happy?" "How comfortable is your room?" "Are you keeping your room clean?"

She would ask the same questions every day and every single time, the worst part is I would have done an even boring call session with my friend and enjoyed it. if I had a time machine then I would go back to kick my younger self's ass for being so mean to my mom. The least we can do to our moms to make them a little less anxious and a tiny bit happy is to answer those questions wholeheartedly and most importantly asking the same questions back to her and to care for her.

God is no match

One day when I came back home from school I brought back Dengue with me and in just three days I was very sick and my platelet count dropped to 30k. I heard the doctor telling my mom that I have no hope and at best I might live today, mom broke into pieces with her eyes full our tears but when she came back into the room she wiped it all out and smiled at me saying "everything is gonna be ok!" and I still remember that face. That night I went to sleep thinking that it was my last day but my mom sat right next to me and kept praying the whole night, when I woke up the next day my mom came back running from the lab hugged me, kissed me, and cried with joyful tears as my platelets count has increased to 1 lakh.

That night I realized if God gave me a second chance then I have the destiny to pursue and it is not to become rich, not to become a celebrity, and not to write code but to repay my mom with the love she deserves and to be with her till the end of my life.

Everything can wait

The bug that you are about to fix, the button that you are about to add to the design, the sales call that you are about to make can wait, just drop everything and go kiss your mom and tell her that you love her than anything in this world, she at-least deserves that.

One last thing

The only living being on planet earth that is gonna value its life lesser than yours and has sworn to live the life out protecting your mind and soul from the moment you were just a single useless cell and sacrificing countless things just to make you happy and to put a smile on your face is a mom and she deserves better so let us do better.